Ayahuasca Life

Just another WordPress.com site

Ayahuasca Life Blog Launch

with 3 comments

So, many friends and family have requested I start a blog to document my long term project work with Blue Morpho in Iquitos, Peru.  Here we go…..

The project will start with a 6 month trial period and may evolve into something completely different or a longer internship.

This is the first time that I have ever blogged about anything, so please bear with my writing.  I have never been known to be one to go on and on with my writing.  I am more of a “bottom line” writer.  I expect this to change as I blog more and as I find my writing voice.   Thank you for your patience.

My time with Blue Morpho will start Oct. 30th with a combination sanango/ayahuasca retreat for 7 days.  As many of you know I have drunk ayahuasca several times already, but sanango is a new teacher plant for me.  There really is not much information on the web regarding sanango, the best description I have seen thus far is on Blue Morpho’s web site.  Here is an excerpt:

“That solution is filtered through cheese cloth and is consumed at 3:00 A.M. It is hot and spicy and can cause vomiting and diarrhea. 20 to 30 minutes after ingesting Sanango the visionary effects begin. The journey lasts up to 5 hours with mild visions and very strong corporal sensations. Some people express difficulty with seeing straight and equilibrium the day after the Sanango Ceremony.

Sanango’s head medicine spirit presents himself in the form of an old man and is affectionately referred to as Abuelo Sanango or Grandfather Sanango.  He is known to be very strict and very compassionate. His principle teaching is integrity and Truth. The Sanango diet moves methodically. As it straightens your energy, you face all your thoughts, desires, attitudes and understandings. They will be transformed.

Its movement is likened to a glacier. As it moves slowly, sometimes so slowly it seems like it is stopped, it pulverizes all resistance and leaves in its path a beautiful living sculpture. There is no movement in Sanango that can be resisted. It is infinitely patient as it reminds you that you will redefine your life in Truth and Heart.”

My understanding is that sanango is not nearly as visual as ayahuasca nor as easy going.   I also have heard that sanango has a lower margin of error than ayahuasca as it is extremely important to drink sanango with a shaman that has trained extensively with the plant.  I have heard of a shaman who was well versed in aya, but not with sanango give too much sanango to her clients- one ended up in an asylum the other can only walk on her tippy toes.  Good stuff.

For those catching up on what ayahuasca and Blue Morpho are all about, here are some links:

http://www.bluemorphotours.com – Blue Morpho’s site

http://www.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/0603/features/peru.html – a National Geographic article that does a very good job of describing an ayahuasca experience and Blue Morpho.

Next week I head to Onalaska,WA for a 10 day Vipassana retreat before heading down to Peru!

Written by ayahuascalife

October 7, 2010 at 7:27 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok I am ready to hear some updates on your trip to Peru.

    Eugene Stinkyfinger

    November 3, 2010 at 12:13 am

  2. Hi there!
    I am very glad you are keeping this blog and I really look forward to reading more!
    I hope your retreat with the sanango goes well, sounds pretty intense. And I really want to hear about the Vipassana retreat! Who was the teacher?
    Take care of yourself, and write again soon!
    Best,
    Amber J (friend of Josh P)

    Amber J

    November 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm


Leave a Reply

